

## MINISTRY OF WORKS AND TRANSPORT

**Corporate Communication Unit** 

2-4 London Street, Port of Spain 100623, Trinidad and Tobago Tel: (868) 625-1225 Ext 10813 Fax: (868)625-3091 Email: communications@mowt.gov.tt

Thursday 14<sup>th</sup> October, 2021

## MEDIA RELEASE

## MINISTER SINANAN MEETS WITH TAXI ASSOCIATIONS OF THE BARRACKPORE AREA

Senator the Honourable Rohan Sinanan, Minister of Works and Transport, alongside senior members of the Ministry's Executive Team, met with Mr. Ravi Ramsingh (President) and Mr. Randy Soogrim (Public Relations Officer) of the Barrackpore to San Fernando Taxi Association, as well as, Mr. Chandradath Rampersad, President of the Princes Town to Barrackpore Taxi Association on Thursday 14<sup>th</sup> October, 2021.

At this cordial meeting, representatives of the Taxi Associations shared their concerns on the issue of deteriorating road infrastructure and its impact on their livelihood. Based on open discussions, Senator the Honourable Rohan Sinanan indicated that the Ministry has been undertaking work on a continuous basis in the Barrackpore area, and will continue to undertake high priority road rehabilitation and drainage works in fiscal 2021/2022. Additionally, through its Highways Division, the Ministry gave its commitment to work with representatives present at the meeting to identify areas of concern to determine short-term, medium, and long-term solutions.

Minister Rohan Sinanan thanked the Taxi Associations for utilizing this formal approach to address their grievances, and welcomed the fruitful discussions given protest actions earlier this week.

The Ministry of Works and Transport will continue to work with the Barrackpore community and by extension the Moruga/Tableland Constituency to develop amicable and practical solutions to the ongoing challenges of maintaining and rehabilitating road infrastructure.



**COLLABORATING TO PROVIDE SOLUTIONS**: (Left to Right) – Mr. Randy Soogrim, Public Relations Office, Barrackpore to San Fernando Taxi Association, Senator the Honourable Rohan Sinanan, Minister of Works and Transport, Mr. Ravi Ramsingh, President, Barrackpore to San Fernando Taxi Association, Chandath Rampersad, President, Princes Town to Barrackpore Taxi Association and Mrs. Sonia Francis-Yearwood, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Works and Transport at the Ministry's Head Office.